7.0OMTech K40+ 45W Desktop CO2 Laser

OMTech K40+ 45W Desktop CO2 Laser Review

Tinkerers on a budget who need what diodes can't do, cutting clear acrylic and engraving glass, and don't mind learning mirror alignment and water cooling.

  • 45 W co2
  • Enclosed
  • 300 × 200 mm
  • Not stated — treat as Class 4
Price tier: Mid-rangeprice tier · see Amazon for today's price

Opens Amazon in a new tab.

Our score comes from manufacturer specs, professional reviews, and owner reports. It is not a hands-on lab test.

The verdict

The K40+ is the budget door into CO2: for about $800 it cuts and engraves clear acrylic, glass and leather that no blue diode can touch, and GoLaserGo found it solid and LightBurn-friendly. It's also old-school, with a small bed, a water-cooled glass tube, mirror alignment and no camera, and OMTech's own cut figures disagree. If you can stretch, the xTool P2S is a different class of easy; if you don't need clear acrylic, an enclosed diode is simpler to live with.

What we like

  • Cheapest way here to cut clear acrylic and engrave glass: a CO2 wavelength for about $800
  • Built-in auto-adjusting air assist, exhaust fan, water pump, door interlock and emergency stop
  • LightBurn and LaserGRBL support over USB
  • Rotary-axis and chiller bundles available on Amazon

Watch out for

  • Small 300 × 200 mm (12 × 8 in) bed
  • Water-cooled glass tube (pump in a bucket, or a chiller) and periodic mirror alignment
  • No camera and no autofocus; manual focus for every material
  • OMTech's own cut figures conflict (8 mm wood on the 45 W listing vs 3 mm in its help center), and it weighs 81.8 lb

Score breakdown

Engraving & cutting
7.4
Ease of use
6
Safety & build
6.2
Value
8.2

45 W CO2 tube rating (OMTech figure, not a measured output) · Enclosed · Not stated — treat as Class 4

OMTech K40+ specs

BrandOMTech
Laser typeCO2 (10.6 µm CO2 glass tube)
Output power45 W CO2 tube rating (OMTech figure, not a measured output)
FormatEnclosed
Work area300 × 200 mm (11.8 × 7.9 in). Honeycomb bed; detachable base for taller objects
Max speed300 mm/s (maker rating)
Laser classNot stated — treat as Class 4
Cuts woodUp to 8 mm (maker claim)
Clear acrylicYes
MetalCoated metal only
Air assistBuilt in
CameraNo
AutofocusNo
RotaryOptional add-on
SoftwareLaserGRBL (pre-installed), LightBurn
ConnectivityUSB
Weight81.8 lb
WarrantyListing promises '2 years of comprehensive service'; OMTech's help center says K40+ tubes carry a 6-month warranty
Price tier$$ Mid-range ($500–$1,500). See Amazon for today's price.
  • '45W' is the advertised tube rating. Glass CO2 tubes in this class typically deliver less than the label and fade with age, and OMTech publishes no measured output.
  • Cut depth conflict: the 45 W Amazon listing claims 8 mm wood and 10 mm acrylic; OMTech's K40/K40+ help-center FAQ says 3 mm wood and 5 mm acrylic and that the series doesn't support a rotary, yet a 'with Rotary Axis' bundle is sold on Amazon. The FAQ may predate the 45 W upgrade.
  • Laser class isn't stated on the listing. It has a door interlock and emergency stop, but treat it like any Class 4 CO2: never defeat the interlock.
  • Two OMTech-sold listings with the same title showed $759.99 (B0GK8VXW45, few reviews) and $799.99 (B0DFM5L5MD) on Oct 29, 2026.
  • Amazon lists the item weight as 81.8 lb; plan on a two-person lift and a sturdy bench.

Bundles and power options

Each option is a separate Amazon listing. Prices are typical street prices, not live.

OptionWhat's differentPrice
K40+ 45WOur pick: machine with water pumpCheck price
K40+ 45W + rotary axisAdds a rotary for cups and bottlesCheck price
K40+ 45W + CW-3000 chillerReplaces the bucket-and-pump cooling with a chillerCheck price

Specs are compiled from manufacturer listings and independent reviews and may change between production runs. Laser makers re-bundle often, so confirm what's in the box on the Amazon page before buying.

The OMTech K40+ is a desktop CO2 laser with a 45 W-rated glass tube, a 300 × 200 mm bed and built-in air assist, exhaust fan and water pump, for about $760–800 (check today’s price). It’s the cheapest way in our guide to cut clear acrylic and engrave glass, jobs no blue diode can do. In exchange you get an old-school machine with water cooling, mirror alignment, no camera and cut figures that OMTech’s own pages don’t agree on. If you’re unsure whether you need CO2 at all, read diode vs CO2 vs fiber or try the laser matcher.

Who the K40+ is for (and who should skip it)

It’s for tinkerers on a budget who need what diodes can’t do: clear acrylic signs and keychains, frosted glassware, leather and fabric. It suits people who enjoy learning how a machine works, because owning one means aligning mirrors, managing a coolant loop and focusing by hand.

Skip it if you want a plug-and-play experience. The xTool P2S is a very different class of easy, with cameras, autofocus and a far bigger bed, at several times the price. Skip it too if you don’t need clear acrylic or glass. An enclosed diode such as the Creality Falcon A1 Pro is simpler to live with, and an open-frame diode such as the Longer Ray5 40W claims thicker wood cuts.

Key capabilities

The CO2 wavelength is the reason to buy. It cuts clear cast acrylic with polished edges, frosts glass, and handles wood, leather and fabric. Check specific materials in the material checker. Bare metal is out; like any CO2 laser it only marks coated or anodized metal.

How thick it cuts is genuinely unsettled. The 45 W Amazon listing claims 8 mm wood and 10 mm acrylic; OMTech’s K40/K40+ help-center FAQ says 3 mm wood and 5 mm acrylic. The FAQ may predate the 45 W upgrade, but we wouldn’t buy it counting on the higher figures. The “45W” itself is a tube rating, not a measured output, and glass tubes fade with age. Our wattage explainer explains why CO2 and diode watts aren’t comparable.

The bed is small at 300 × 200 mm (12 × 8 in), with a honeycomb and a detachable base for taller objects. Rated speed is 300 mm/s.

Day-to-day use

GoLaserGo found the K40+ solid and LightBurn-friendly. LaserGRBL comes pre-installed and LightBurn works over USB, so you’re not stuck with clunky bundled software. There’s no camera and no autofocus, so you’ll focus manually for every material and position jobs by framing.

The built-in features are decent for the price: auto-adjusting air assist, an exhaust fan, a water pump, a door interlock and an emergency stop. The water-cooled tube runs with the included pump in a bucket, or you can buy the CW-3000 chiller bundle (about $920). At 81.8 lb, it’s a two-person lift onto a sturdy bench.

What you’ll need beyond the box

  • Ventilation. CO2 cutting makes heavy smoke. Duct the built-in exhaust outside with 4-inch aluminum ducting, and add an inline duct fan for long runs; check the exhaust port diameter first. See our ventilation guide.
  • Eye protection. OMTech doesn’t state a laser class on the listing, so treat it as Class 4. Keep the door shut and never defeat the interlock. Blue-diode glasses don’t protect against a 10.6 µm CO2 beam; any eyewear has to be rated for that wavelength.
  • Air assist. Built in.
  • Cooling. Plan a spot beside the machine for the pump-and-bucket water loop, or pay about $120 more for the chiller bundle.
  • Rotary. Unclear (see the FAQ). A rotary bundle is sold for about $900, but OMTech’s own help center says the series doesn’t support one.
  • Materials and fire safety. Clear cast acrylic to get started, plus an ABC extinguisher. The safety guide covers the rest.

Reliability and warranty

The listing promises “2 years of comprehensive service”, but OMTech’s help center says K40+ tubes carry a 6-month warranty, and the tube is the part that wears. Two OMTech-sold listings with the same title showed $759.99 and $799.99 on October 29, 2026; the cheaper one had few reviews, so compare the seller and box contents.

Bottom line

The K40+ is the budget door into CO2: for about $800 it cuts clear acrylic and engraves glass, and GoLaserGo rated it solid and LightBurn-friendly. Expect a small bed, a water-cooled tube, mirror alignment and no camera, and don’t count on OMTech’s higher cut figures. If you can stretch, the P2S is far easier; if you don’t need clear acrylic, an enclosed diode is simpler. More options are in our laser for small business guide. Check today’s price and bundles on Amazon.

Ready to buy? · 7.0/10OMTech K40+ 45W Desktop CO2 LaserPrice tier: Mid-range · 45 W co2 · Enclosed
Check price on Amazon

Accessories for the OMTech K40+

Official and universal add-ons sold on Amazon — safety glasses, fume extraction, air assist, rotaries and materials. Check the listing confirms your exact model before you buy.

  • Safety
    CARLANY 190–490 nm OD6+ laser safety glassesUniversal fit

    Blue-diode protection for anyone near an open-frame laser, or when you lift the lid or override an interlock on an enclosed one. Covers 445–455 nm blue diodes only; does not protect against 1064 nm IR/fiber or 10.6 µm CO2. Match the OD rating to your laser's wavelength.

  • Safety
    Amerex B417T 2.5 lb ABC fire extinguisher with bracketUniversal fit

    Lasers cut by burning; a small ABC extinguisher mounted beside the machine is the cheapest fire insurance you can buy. Dry-chemical powder can ruin a laser's optics and electronics; LightBurn recommends a CO2 extinguisher for the machine itself.

  • Safety
    Amerex 322 5 lb carbon dioxide (CO2) fire extinguisherUniversal fit

    Class B:C CO2 leaves no powder residue, so it puts out a fire in the machine without destroying the optics. Pricier than ABC; not rated for Class A (wood/paper) fires on its own, so keep a fire blanket too.

  • Safety
    Prepared Hero emergency fire blanket, 39 × 39 in (2-pack)Universal fit

    Smothers a flare-up on the bed without coating the machine's optics in extinguisher powder.

  • Fumes & enclosure
    AC Infinity Cloudline S4 4-inch inline duct fan with speed controllerUniversal fit

    Boosts a laser's built-in exhaust over long duct runs so smoke actually leaves the room. Check your machine's exhaust port diameter; adapters may be needed.

  • Fumes & enclosure
    VIVOSUN 4-inch aluminum ducting, 25 ft with clampsUniversal fit

    Replaces short stock hoses so you can reach a window or wall vent; foil duct tolerates hot exhaust better than vinyl.

  • Materials
    3 mm basswood plywood sheets, 12 × 12 in (12-pack)Universal fit

    The default test and project stock for every laser here; 12 × 12 in fits all but the smallest beds. Cut down for the 150 mm A1C or galvo machines.

  • Materials
    Clear cast acrylic sheets, 12 × 12 × 1/8 in (10-pack)Compatible, third-party

    Cast acrylic cuts with flame-polished edges on a CO2 laser; it's the material that justifies buying one. CO2 only: blue diodes pass straight through clear acrylic.

  • Materials
    VIBRATITE 4-inch square black slate coasters (60-pack)Universal fit

    Best-selling laser blank: slate engraves light grey on black with any diode, CO2 or IR source.

  • Materials
    Laserable leatherette hat patches with adhesive, 3 × 2 in (50-pack)Universal fit

    Cheap, fast-selling patch blanks that engrave cleanly with diode and CO2 lasers. Not for fiber-only lasers such as the ComMarker B4.

Compatibility checked October 2026. More in our laser engraver accessories guide.

OMTech K40+ FAQ

Is the OMTech K40+ really 45 watts?
45 W is OMTech's tube rating, not a measured output. Glass CO2 tubes in this class typically deliver less than the label and fade with age, and OMTech publishes no measured figure. Compare it to other CO2 machines on capability, not the number in the title.
Can the K40+ cut clear acrylic?
Yes. That's the main reason to buy it. Its 10.6 µm CO2 beam cuts and engraves clear acrylic and frosts glass, which no blue diode can do. How thick is less certain: the 45 W Amazon listing claims 10 mm acrylic, while OMTech's K40-series help center says 5 mm.
Does the OMTech K40+ work with a rotary?
It's unclear. OMTech's K40/K40+ help-center FAQ says the series doesn't support a rotary, but a 'with Rotary Axis' K40+ 45W bundle is sold on Amazon, and the FAQ may predate the 45 W upgrade. Ask the seller before relying on rotary work.
What warranty does the K40+ have?
The listing promises '2 years of comprehensive service', while OMTech's help center says K40+ tubes carry a 6-month warranty. Since the tube is the main wear part, confirm the terms on the page you buy from.

Sources

Not sold yet?

Alternatives to the OMTech K40+

Compare all 16 lasers →