The Best Laser Cutter for Wood in 2026: CO2 and High-Power Diode Picks
Our top picks
Best for cutting wood: 55 W CO2, 18 mm basswood in one pass (maker claim), 600 × 305 mm bed, about $2,919xTool P2S 55W Desktop CO2 Laser55 W co2 · Enclosed · 600 × 305 mm8.7Price tier: PremiumCheck price on Amazon
Best Class 1 wood cutter: 40 W diode, 18 mm cherry in one pass (maker claim), about $1,819xTool S1 40W Enclosed Diode Laser40 W diode · Enclosed · 498 × 319 mm8.5Price tier: PremiumCheck price
Budget cutting power: 40 W open-frame diode with air assist, about $648Longer Ray5 40W40 W diode · Open frame · 385 × 385 mm7.5Price tier: Mid-rangeCheck price
Best enclosed under $1,100: 20 W diode with air assist and autofocus, about $1,099Creality Falcon A1 Pro 20W20 W diode · Enclosed · 358 × 268 mm8.2Price tier: Mid-rangeCheck price
Cheapest CO2: small bed and conflicting cut figures, about $760–800OMTech K40+ 45W Desktop CO2 Laser45 W co2 · Enclosed · 300 × 200 mm7.0Price tier: Mid-rangeCheck price
Production wood cutting: 80 W Class 1 CO2 with a 915 × 458 mm bed, about $6,300–7,900xTool P3 80W Flagship CO2 Laser80 W co2 · Enclosed · 915 × 458 mm8.6Price tier: ProCheck price
Engraving wood is easy for any laser. Cutting it cleanly, especially past 6 mm, is where machines separate. Two things decide it: the laser type (CO2 cuts faster and cleaner than a blue diode of similar price) and real optical power, which listing titles often inflate. This guide ranks the best lasers for cutting wood, from a $650 open frame to an 80 W production CO2.
Every cut depth below is the maker’s own claim, not a test we ran. We note whether each figure is single-pass and flag where makers contradict themselves. Our picks draw on manufacturer specs, Amazon listings and independent reviews; we haven’t used these machines ourselves. Prices are from Amazon on October 29, 2026, so check today’s price.
The shortlist
| Laser | Type | Maker cut claim (wood) | Bed | Class | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| xTool P2S | 55 W CO2 | 18 mm basswood, one pass | 600 × 305 mm | Class 4 | ~$2,919 |
| xTool S1 40W | 40 W diode | 18 mm cherry, one pass | 498 × 319 mm | Class 1 | ~$1,819 |
| Longer Ray5 40W | 40 W diode, open frame | 20 mm basswood, one pass (untested) | 385 × 385 mm | Class 4 | ~$648 |
| Falcon A1 Pro | 20 W diode | 10 mm basswood, passes not stated | 358 × 268 mm | Class 1 | ~$1,099 |
| OMTech K40+ | CO2 (“45W” tube rating) | 8 mm (listing) vs 3 mm (help center) | 300 × 200 mm | Not stated | ~$760–800 |
| xTool P3 | 80 W CO2 | 20 mm basswood, one pass | 915 × 458 mm | Class 1 | ~$6,300–7,900 |
Bed size matters as much as depth for wood projects like signs, boxes and puzzles. The chart compares every machine we track.
Galvo machines have small fields but are many times faster. Some open frames and pass-through enclosures take longer pieces; tap a bar for notes.
CO2 or diode for wood?
Both cut wood. They differ in speed, size and what else they can do.
CO2 (the P2S, K40+ and P3) is the traditional cutting laser. At 55–80 W, it cuts thick stock in fewer passes and also cuts every color of acrylic, including clear. The costs are size and upkeep: the P2S weighs 99 lb, CO2 tubes slowly lose power, the budget K40+ needs water cooling and mirror alignment, and the P2S is rated Class 4, so it needs a vented room you control.
High-power blue diodes (the S1 40W, Ray5 40W and A1 Pro) are smaller and lighter, need no water cooling, and in the S1 and A1 Pro come inside a Class 1 enclosure. They cut thick wood more slowly than a 55 W CO2 and can’t cut clear acrylic. Dense hardwoods are noticeably slower than basswood.
If you mostly cut 3–6 mm plywood for ornaments, puzzles and boxes, a 20–40 W diode does the job in a friendlier package. If you cut thick stock daily, sell acrylic products or need speed for orders, CO2 earns its size. Our diode vs CO2 vs fiber comparison goes deeper.
1. xTool P2S: Best laser cutter for wood
The xTool P2S is the wood cutter we’d buy if you can vent it outdoors. xTool rates its 55 W CO2 tube at 18 mm basswood in one pass, and The Gadgeteer found its wood cuts clean with very little to no charring. The 600 × 305 mm bed is the widest under $6,000 here, and the passthrough takes boards up to 3 m long. Built-in air assist and a strong exhaust handle smoke, while dual cameras and LiDAR autofocus make lining up cuts on irregular offcuts easy.
It also cuts every color of acrylic, including clear, which no diode can. The downsides: it weighs 99 lb, it’s rated Class 4, and the glass tube slowly loses power (xTool quotes about 70% at 6,000–8,000 hours). Plan on venting outside or xTool’s AP2 purifier (about $919). xTool’s Honeycomb Working Panel 2.0 (about $139) stops small parts dropping through and cuts backside flashback. Check the P2S price.
2. xTool S1 40W: Best Class 1 wood cutter
The xTool S1 40W is the answer when the cutter has to live in a home office, classroom or shared room. Its 40 W diode sits in a Class 1 enclosure, and xTool claims 18 mm cherry in a single pass. That’s a hardwood figure; xTool doesn’t publish a separate basswood maximum. The 498 × 319 mm bed is the largest of the enclosed diodes, and a conveyor passthrough handles stock up to 3 m long. Maker Hacks notes it measures material height with a touch probe and supports curved-surface engraving.
For clean cuts, budget for xTool’s air assist, which is an add-on. There’s no camera, so positioning uses the laser head. Diode cutting of thick stock is slower than a 55 W CO2. Availability is the main risk: Amazon’s only listing, at about $1,819, is a “Rotary Bundle,” so confirm the contents, and xTool’s Canadian store lists the S1 under clearance. Check the S1 price, or read xTool S1 vs xTool P2S.
3. Longer Ray5 40W: Budget cutting power
On paper, the Longer Ray5 40W is the most wood-cutting power per dollar we track: a 40 W eight-beam diode module, included air assist and a 385 mm-square bed for about $648. Longer claims 20 mm basswood in one pass. It runs offline from a 3.5-in touchscreen and TF card or over Wi-Fi and USB with LightBurn, and it has flame and motion sensors, temperature protection and an emergency stop.
It’s an open-frame Class 4 laser, so everyone in the room needs 445 nm-rated glasses, and it belongs in a garage or workshop with an enclosure and ventilation. Focus is manual and there’s no camera. Most important, we found no major-outlet test of the 40 W version, so treat the 20 mm figure as a claim. Amazon groups Ray5 versions under work-area labels; the 40 W is the “385x385mm” option, so confirm the wattage before you order. Check the Ray5 40W price.
The cheaper Atomstack A20 Pro V2 (about $390) is a 20 W open frame with a claimed 12 mm one-pass cut. Air assist is extra, and it also lacks an independent review.
4. Creality Falcon A1 Pro 20W: Best enclosed wood cutter under $1,100
The Falcon A1 Pro is the most affordable Class 1 machine we’d buy for regular wood cutting. Its 20 W diode has built-in air assist, and Creality quotes 10 mm basswood “with fewer passes” without saying how many, so plan on multiple passes for thick stock. Camera autofocus, a touchscreen, Wi-Fi and LightBurn support make it easy to run. The 358 × 268 mm bed is the limit for larger signs; the cheaper 10 W Falcon A1 has a bigger bed but cuts only about 6 mm. About $1,099. Check the A1 Pro price.
If you prefer xTool, the M2 with its 20 W head (about $899, rated at 10 mm basswood in one pass) or 40 W head (about $1,199, 15 mm in one pass) is the Class 1 alternative.
5. OMTech K40+: Cheapest CO2
The OMTech K40+ is the budget door into CO2 at about $760–800, with built-in air assist, an exhaust fan, a door interlock and LightBurn support. GoLaserGo found it solid and LightBurn-friendly. For wood, its limits are real: a small 300 × 200 mm bed, water cooling via a pump in a bucket, mirror alignment and manual focus. OMTech’s own figures conflict, too. The 45 W listing claims 8 mm wood, while its help center says 3 mm. The FAQ may predate the 45 W upgrade, but we wouldn’t count on thick cuts. The “45W” is a tube rating, not a measured output. Check the K40+ price.
6. xTool P3: Production wood cutting
For a shop cutting sheet goods all day, the xTool P3 is the upgrade: an 80 W CO2 rated at 20 mm basswood in one pass, a 915 × 458 mm (36 × 18 in) bed, speeds up to 1,200 mm/s, a built-in chiller and Class 1 certification with fire suppression. Tom’s Hardware found it fast and accurate on wood and acrylic, though the head bumped work a couple of times in its testing. It weighs 231 lb, runs xTool Studio only, and costs about $6,300–7,900. Check the P3 price.
Getting clean wood cuts
The machine is half the result. The rest is material and setup:
- Buy laser-grade plywood. Glue layers in cheap plywood cause uncut spots. 3 mm basswood plywood (about $25 for 12 sheets) is the standard test stock.
- Use air assist. It clears smoke from the cut, reduces charring and helps diodes cut deeper. Every pick here has it built in or available.
- Respect hardwood density. Walnut, maple and cherry engrave beautifully but cut slowly on diodes. Keep thickness modest.
- Vent MDF well. It cuts cleanly, but the resin binder makes heavy, strong-smelling smoke.
- Watch every cut. Wood burns. Keep an extinguisher and fire blanket nearby, and never leave a job running.
Check any specific material in the material checker: plywood, hardwood or MDF.
Which wood laser should you buy?
- Thick cuts, big bed, can vent outdoors: xTool P2S.
- Thick cuts in a shared room: xTool S1 40W.
- Most power for the money, dedicated workshop: Longer Ray5 40W.
- Enclosed, mostly 3–6 mm plywood, under $1,100: Falcon A1 Pro.
- Cheapest CO2 and you like tinkering: OMTech K40+.
- Production volume: xTool P3.
Not sure CO2 is worth it? Diode vs CO2 vs fiber explains the trade-offs, what materials can a laser cut covers wood and beyond, and the wattage explainer shows why a “45W” CO2 tube and a 40 W diode aren’t comparable numbers.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best laser cutter for wood?
Can a diode laser cut wood?
Is CO2 or diode better for cutting wood?
What wood should I avoid laser cutting?
Sources
- The Gadgeteer: xTool P2S 55W Desktop CO2 Laser Cutter review · checked 2026-10-30 — The reviewer found the P2S's wood cuts clean with very little to no charring, and called the machine outstanding.
- Maker Hacks: xTool S1 review · checked 2026-10-30 — The S1 uses a touch probe to measure material height, supports curved-surface engraving, and offers rotary, air-assist, riser and conveyor accessories.
- Tom's Hardware: xTool P3 review · checked 2026-10-30 — Tom's Hardware found the 80 W P3 fast and accurate at cutting wood and acrylic, and certified Class 1.
- xTool: S1 laser cutter product page · checked 2026-10-30 — S1 clearance is 42 mm without a riser and 125 mm with the Class 1 riser base.
Get new guides by e-mail
One short e-mail when Laser Engravers Guide publishes a new guide. No spam, no sharing your address, and you can unsubscribe in one click.